Behind the Scenes of Show Choir

At our high school, we have a choir program known as the “Rhythm in Red” Show Choir, directed by Mrs. Alison Hamilton. Many don’t understand our purpose, or even know what it is that we do. I’ve decided to write this story in order to share some details about our small singing family.
During the times of Christmas and Spring, the show choir performs at the school choir concert and throughout the community. We hold many fundraisers and sales in order to pay for the expenses that come along with a traveling group.
The majority of our singing is done at nursing homes, club meetings, community organizations, and Robert Bycroft. We greatly enjoy spreading holiday cheer through singing and dancing.
Some of our fundraisers include pepperoni rolls, apple sales, and we also sell a variety of things at every home football game. This money aids our group immensely as it is used towards educational trips, bus fees to and from our performances, and hopefully new uniforms next school year.
As a senior, this is my fourth year in show choir. Being a part of this group has taught me many things. I’ve learned leadership skills, comfort in being myself, and I have gotten rid of my stage fright. From my perspective, show choir is one of the best extracurricular activities at Beaver Local. Not only do we learn characteristics of how to be better people, but we also learn love and acceptance.
Show choir feels like a small family to me, and I’m very happy that I decided to join the group. The smiles that we put on the faces of friends and strangers make our teacher, and our members, proud of our group.
On October 20, the high school choir will be singing the National Anthem at the home football game. On December 12, we will be holding our high school Christmas choir concert in the auditorium.

Soprano: Madison C, Grace C, Abigail M, Madeline S, Mikayla S, Jordan S
Alto: Courtney B, Izzy B, Alexis C, Katrina M, Lauren M, Olivia R, Corin T
Tenor: Jeremy B, Ashton B, Brady D, Tyler H, Alex M, Brandon M, Justus P,
Bass: Vince H, Hunter H, Austin M, Alec P, Corey S, Roc W

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *